Soccer: Les Bleues in Brazil's group for the 2023 World Cup

Soccer: Les Bleues in Brazil’s group for the 2023 World Cup

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup mascot Tazuni the penguin poses during the draw in Auckland, New Zealand on Saturday 22 October 2022.

The draw for the 2023 Women’s World Cup, held on Saturday October 22 in Auckland (New Zealand), was quite successful for the France team. Wendie Renard’s Bleues have inherited a comfortable group with Brazil as their toughest rival. They will also face Jamaica, an unprecedented rival for them, and a playoff that will be defined in February after a tournament between Taiwan, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay and Panama.

However, Les Bleues could find Germany, a nation that beat them in the semi-finals of the last European Championship, from the round of 16. The Corinne Deacon players will kick off their tournament on July 23, in Sydney, Australia, against Jamaica and then continue on July 29 against Brazil in Brisbane, Australia, before playing the play-off winners on August 2 . In the last World Cup, they were eliminated by the United States in the quarterfinals.

Also read: Ballon d’Or 2022: Spain’s Alexia Putellas crowned, Wendie Renard finishes in a disappointing 8th place

In search of a third consecutive title, the Americans will face the Netherlands, their rival in the final of the 2019 edition, Vietnam and a play-off still to be defined. In the short term, the path seems clear for Megan Rapinoe’s Team USA, which aims to play a new final on August 20 in Sydney. In the round of 16, the table places them against Sweden, South Africa, Italy or Argentina.

England, newly crowned European champions, will take on Pernille Harder’s Denmark, a team that is sometimes fickle but not lacking in talent. China and a complete play-off from Group D. Finalists of the European Championship, Germany is also one of the teams to watch, as well as the Spain of Alexia Putellas (currently injured), who won the Ballon d’Or.

Television rights a hundred times cheaper than for men

New Zealand, organizer with Australia, will kick off the World Cup on July 20 at the mythical Eden Park in Auckland, sacred ground of rugby, against Ada Hegerberg’s Norway.

The table for this 2023 World Cup will be completed in February after an intercontinental playoff tournament that will award the last three qualifying places. Whatever happens, there will be at least five newcomers to the starting line: Morocco, the Philippines, the Republic of Ireland, Vietnam and Zambia.

The Irish will have a lot to contend with in particular from Sam Kerr’s Australia, led by their fans, Nigeria, which is one of the strongholds of women’s football in Africa, and Canada, who will present themselves with the tag of Olympic champions in title.

The International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) hopes to confirm in Oceania the audience success of the 2019 edition, which was held in France. But world soccer’s governing body is facing reluctance from some broadcasters who are reluctant to pay television broadcasting rights at fair value.

Also read: Article reserved for our subscribers Athletes attack the taboo of the rules, the federations are slow to return to the subject

the “The announcers offer us a hundred times less than what they offer us for the Men’s World Cup”, denounced the head of FIFA, Gianni Infantino, on the sidelines of the draw. The manager judged these offers “unacceptable”especially since the television channels ” growing up [les instances du football] do more for equality”.

The ninth Women’s World Cup will be unprecedented for several reasons: it will be the first edition with thirty-two teams, it will take place in the southern hemisphere and it will be organized by two countries.

Mondial-2023: the groups of the first round

Group A: New Zealand (host country), Norway, Philippines, Switzerland.

B Group: Australia (host country), Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan

Group D: England, Dam, Denmark, China

Group E: United States (defending), Vietnam, Netherlands, play-off.

Group F: FranceJamaica, Brazil, play-off.

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina.

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea.

The world

#Soccer #Les #Bleues #Brazils #group #World #Cup

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *